Cheryl ♡
My story
Sunday, 25 December 2016
My retail experience
I'm a 16 YO, currently awaiting my O lvl results . With that said , I have also been working at Royal Sporting house for the past month . My last day was on 21st December . Although it has only been a short one month , it has really been a eye opener for me . I used to believe working retail was the easiest , all you have to do was to serve customers , put up a big smile , if there were any unreasonable customers , just nod your head and apologise . After all , working retail requires you to stick to the legendary phrase " the customers are always right." However , just within that short period of 1 month , I didn't think so anymore . I'm one of the luckier smart , just one of those who didn't sign a contract with Royal sporting house . From what I heard from my work mates , their contract requires them to work 44 hours/ week . Which means that they had to work 5 days per week. I feel that I'm more lucky in a sense that I didn't have to work Everyday . Firstly , retail jobs requires you to work from morning till night . I usually report to work at 1pm and end at 9.30pm , my work mates ( who signed the contract ) needs to report to work at 11am all the way till 9.30pm . We close at 10pm on Fridays and the weekends . What really bothers me is that ending at 9.30pm . Oh yes , we get to wake up late , report to work late (yay more sleep) , but sometimes when I return home at night, my parents and Brother would be asleep , and by the time I wake up for work the next day , they would be at work / having school , cca,out with friends . And the cycle repeats itself . I feel like I rarely have the chance to interact with them due to the working hours of my job . That's one of the worst thing about working in the retail industry. Ah , and now the best part . During my work , although rare , but I have met some unreasonable customers during my time at RSH . The 3 best examples :
1) This woman ( I Guess she was from China based on her accent ) was looking for a pair of Adidas pants in size L . The pants was for mens. So she kindly asked for my assistance on whether was there a size L left . Being unfamiliar with the stock room, I had asked one of the full timers - let's call him R- to accompany me into the stock room to look for it . Since the pants was from an old season ( it was first released in the earlier part of the year ) , we did not carry anymore stocks for it . So R told me to tell the lady to try it on in the fitting room , since size M was already very big and it looked like she could fit . I did as I was told. Instantly , she asked me was it for mens , I replied " yes. " Then without saying anything else , she shouted at me and said " if it's for mens then why you ask me to try on ? I confirm need a size L its for my dad , " she then turned to the full timer(R) and asked him to recheck again . R gave me the "it's okay " kind of reassuring look .
I feel kind of maligned in a way . Firstly, I didn't know she was buying that pants for her Father, and she did not clarify herself properly . Secondly , there are some people who prefer wearing the opposite sex wear , because truth to be told , as Long as the size fits you perfectly and you like it, I don't see a reason to deem it as oh I can't wear this because it's for the opposite sex .
And the worst part was she started screaming at me for apparently not being able to find the stocks ? Why? Because I look young and inexpierence ? I had a full timer ( he has been working at RSH for almost a year ) to enter the stock room and search for the pants with me . I tried to find it , but if our outlet doesn't carry Anymore stocks , it Isi't my fault . I can't do anything , yes we have even checked with other outlets to see if they carried the same pants of size L , but there isn't. And the best part was , she only said " thank you " to R and not me . Why do adults always treat kids/teens as if they do not know anything , you are not even giving me a chance to learn .
2) Another woman , was holding on to a pink Adidas cap, asking me was there a discount for this , I looked at the tag and said no , there was no discount as this was from a newer season . She then asked me , why Isi't that this pink Adidas cap that don't have a discount while the other Adidas cap , which had the same design , just that was brown in Colour had a 25% discount . Feeling unsure , I took the cap to ask another full timer ( let's call her S ) , at this point in time when I was asking S , S was actually serving Indian customers. And these Indian customers (5-6pax) were trying on shoes . The ladies were trying on swim wears , the men were trying on shoes . And ALL of them didn't know their size , so poor S had to keep going to the stock room , taking 3-4 pairs of the same design each , just for them to figure out their shoe size . Meanwhile , the ladies are looking at swimwear , asking S which had a discount , which didn't have a discount , looking for different sizes , and S was just scurrying around to the stock room and back, helping them out . She was the only person helping them , as the other part timer was on break . Although it was quite hectic for S , she still put on a very cheerful attitude , and was very kind as to help the Indian customers . So seeing she was so busy, I asked her whether the pink Adidas cap had a discount or not , S simply told me no , this is from the newer season thus does not have Any discount , I then told the woman , what S had told me . Then the woman took the brown Adidas cap and pointed out to me that they were the same design . Feeling unsure , I asked s once again, who was busy keeping the shoes while the Indian customers were trying on New pairs . S said you try to scan the tag on the computer to check the price , so I said , okay . But being new to the computer ( part timers were not allowed to do the payments for customers , thus it was my first time touching the computer ) , I was not able to scan the tag to check for the price . Then , this woman started being angry . She told her male Friend ( I'm gonna assume it was her Boyfriend ) that the staffs here are unreliable , and we didn't even know whether there is a discount or not .And that this was bad customer service. And how we were rude to not even help to serve her . She probably said it loud enough for me to hear , but not for S to hear . Then, my manager suddenly walked in and asked what's the matter , my manager then helped to scan the pink Adidas cap , and Lo n behold, the cap indeed didn't have a discount , the brown cap did have a discount as it was from the past season . The woman simply left unhappy . I honestly felt that the woman was being unreasonable , she keep insisting that since it is the same model , there is bound to be a discount . Me and S both told her from the very beginning, that the cap DID NOT have a discount , yet she was the one who insisted that there must be a discount and then went on ahead to assume that WE ( me and S) didn't know whether or not there was a discount thus was giving bad customer service . And I feel even badder for S because she was serving other customers ( which were more difficult to handle ) , this could not assist this woman, yet instead the woman simply put it off as S's bad customer service .
Customers NEED to understand that in a shop, they are NOT THE ONLY CUSTOMERS that we , employees serve and we always try our upmost best to provide good customer service , but it is NOT OUR FAULT should there be more customers then employees , thus we are unable to serve all at once .
3) *disclaimer* this is more of creepy then unreasonable . The Old men, I would say he is in his late 50s to early 60s , he walked into the store and took this Adidas shirt ( for females ) , I didn't find it that weird since I strongly believe that if you like something, and it fits you perfectly , it doesn't matter whether Isit for male or female . Now , the weird thing is that he approached me ( I'm the only female employee in the shop at this point of time ) and asked me to hold the shirt for him . Not that weird right . Then he asked me whether or not this size would fit ( he points to a nearby lady ) that lady . I was Abit stun by the question as hardly anyone does that. I said I'm not sure I think it would fit but it all depends on her built , then he asked me to hold it for him while he examines the shirt . After that , another customer called for me and I left the shirt back to him, after about 30 mins, when I was done serving that customer , he approached me again, asking me whether or not this size would fit ( he points to another lady) that lady. I said again I'm not sure , what he does next is creepy af. He then told me to ask the lady whether the shirt would fit her or not , and told me not to tell the lady it was him who asked to do so. I found this weird but comply anyway. When I finished asking the lady, the man was nowhere to be found , the lady whom I asked left the shop quietly ( I presume she was Abit frighten ), then the man whistled to get my attention . I turn around to see that he was actually in the next aisle , next to when I had talked to the lady . I told him what the lady said ( she said it could not fit ) and the man said thank you before leaving heastitly . I guess this encounter wouldn't be so creepy if he had told me its for his Wife or Daughter .
All in all, I found this retail job experience a very good eye opener for me , I definitely look up to all those working in retail industries and will not treat any retail staffs members with any disrespect . Having left RSH, I wish RSH all the best in the future , and thank all my co-workers who treated me kindly and helped me along the way . Special thanks to XiaoPing, Marica , Sam , Ron, Ivy , all the other part timers , Eugene , Marcus , Joenus & Fardius ❤️
Monday, 23 March 2015
Paper Town - John Green
I could turn on my side, n she might turn on her side too . And then we could kiss. But what's the point of kissing her now , anyway? It won't go anywhr. We are nothing staring at the cloudless sky. "Nothing ever happens like you imagine it will," she says.
The sky is like a monochromatic contemporary painting, drawing me in with it's illusion of depth, pulling me up. "Yeah, that's true," I say. But then after I think about it 4 a second, I add "But then again, if you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all." Imagining isn't perfect. You can't get all the way inside someone else. I could have never imagined Margo's anger bring found, or the story she was writing over. But imagining being someone else, or the world being something else, is the only way in. It is the machine that kills fascists.
She turns over toward me and ours her head onto my shoulder, and we lie there, as I long imagined lying on the grass at SeaWorld. It has taken us thousand of miles and many days, but here we are: her head on my shoulder, her breath on my neck, the fatigue thick inside both is us. We are now as I wished we could be then.
---------------------------------------
"When I've thought about him dying- which admittedly isn't that much - I always thought of it like you said, that all the strings inside him broke. But there are a thousand ways to look at it: maybe the strings break, or maybe our ships sink, or maybe we're grass- our roots so interdependent that no one is dead as long as someone is still alive. We don't suffer from a shortage of metaphors, is what I mean. But you have to be careful which metaphor you choose, because it matters. If you choose the strings then you're imagining a world in which you can become irreplaceably broken. If you choose the grass, you're saying that we are all not infinitely interconnected, that we can use these root systems not only to understand one another but to become one another. The metaphors have implications. Do you know what I mean?"
She nods.
" I like the strings. I always have . Because that's how it feels. But the strings make pain seen more fatal than it is, I think. We're not as frail as the strings make us believe. And I like the grass too. The grass got me to you, helped me imagine you as an actual person. But we're not different sprouts from the same plant. I can't be you. You can't be me. You can imagine another well- but never quite perfectly, you know?"
Saturday, 31 January 2015
1O facts about me
1) I love anything green- tea flavoured . Green tea pocky , green tea milk tea !! All my favvv!!
2) I like giving pet names to others . I wouldn't call ppl by their real names , I'll call them whatever I feel suits them . This makes me feel closer to them somehow ,,
3) I'm very straightforward people still probably hates me for insulting them , but I mean no harm !!
4) I m a fan of chemistry and Maths ! I always believed Maths is magic , n my love for it is reallllllll
5) I daydream a lot !! Yes !! I love to build castles in the air , in fact I've alr built an empire aft so many yrs of daydreaming :3
6) I hate Chinese , I can't read or write Chinese , Mirically , I've been passing Chinese thou, makes me wonder how I did it
7) I have a habit of biting ppl , I feel bad aftwards but habits r habits x3
8) I hate children , especially when they scream !!
9) I'm 16Ocm tall !!
1O) I love cheese !! I rmb-ed thr was once I went all the way to Pizza Hut just to eat pizza w stuffed crust , n they told me I couldn't change it to stuffed crust?! Another incident was when I went to 18 chef , I ordered a double cheese baked rice and the manager then said " sorry we ran out of cheese" so sad
Cheryl ,❤️
Friday, 23 January 2015
-
" what the hell is that ?"
" it's my fox hat "
" your fox hat?"
" yeah pudge , my fox hat"
" why are you wearing your fox hat?" I asked .
" because no one can catch the motherfucking fox ."
- J.G
Tuesday, 4 March 2014
OBS (2O14)
Hello guys !
How have your wk been ..? It's been fabulous 4 me . Haven't been really looking forward to camp but now then it has ended , I kinda miss OBS :-| n my camp mates . It's hard miggling ard xspecially when they r ppl u don't see everyday . My camp mates r those whom I didn't even know xsited in MJR .. I'm glad I met them thou . It took us awhile 2 open up , but btr late then nvr right?
Team megallen!!! This was b4 camp officially started . *awkward gap between us*
DAY 1
First day was pretty much boring . Packing of hiking bags , playing some team bonding games . It didn't really help us bond thou ..
NIGHT 1
Shall quote most frequently heard phrases
" YOUR MOTHER FLY HIGH HIGH"
" DIAM LA "
" MOTHERLESS DOG "
" COME BUY MY MAO , 1 FOR $5O"
DAY 2
Here comes de real fun ..
Spended de whole day kayaking
We learn how to capsized . It was de main part of the camp if u asked me . Mayb oni @ this point of time our grp had small little talks with each other . Had our own special buddie buddie 2 huggie huggie . If my juniors r reading this , ENJOY UR KAYAKING . ITS AWESOME
B sure 2 apply sunblock if u don't wanna become black ๐
Kayaked from camp 2 to camp 1
During dinner time , we had GOOD FOOD unlike the other times when we had 2 eat bread , cook our ownselves . Yepppp , it was heavennnn .
This was probably when everyone sat down n really talked 2 each other . Guess that's when we started enjoying each other company ☺️☺️
NIGHT 2
Camping in the dark dark night , we had to pitch our tents in de jungle . Bitten by many mosquitoes , sleeping on rocks .. Ouch ๐ฅ
Least it was a peaceful night
DAY 3
Woke up in de morning feeling like peee dizzy , get my glasses I'm out the tent l'm gonna hit the city .
Dam shag . Didn't even have 6 hrs of slp? Super tired . We did high elements half the day
Don't worry , it'll get higher then this. Promise (-;
Aft a day of climbing , FML . So scary I swear .
We trecked to our next campsite ..
I have nvr missed my heavy sch bag till I carry my camping bag . If I had fallen , I would really pretend to b dead so I won't have 2 carry on .
If u get a buddie buddie , some1 to talk 2 , u'll probably will find de journey quite fast . I found my buddie duddie dou :b
NIGHT 3
Cannot shower la sia
No toilet la sia
Rmb 2 bring baby power or else u'll regret . I had 2 borrow from others . N u'll b doing night patrol . Which means waking up in de middle of de night 2 look 4 ghost :b
Jk
On a side note
Hearsay from my other friends*
My friends saw a female ghost walking towards them while they were using the toilet. They told the instructors , the instructors oso believed them .. Not sure how true . U decide !
DAY 4
Camp was gonna b over . I missed my camp mates . Woke up , we helped picked up trash on the beach b4 treckking back from no toilet campsite to another no toilet campsite n kayaked back . Super tiring . Felt like giving up so many times . Almost hit the shores of Malaysia so many times .. Gotten sun tan despite putting 6th layers of sunblock ?!
But it was still fun dou . My scale got sun burn LOL . PLS , RMB 2 WEAR A CAP , MY SCALE HURTS LIKE A B*TCH REALLY ..
Aft we're back on shores of camp 1 , we had to keep , wash the kayaks . Took us xactly an hour ... Long enough .
So anyway , aft doing all of those , we finally managed 2 shower . FINALLY AFT 36 HRS OF NOT SHOWERING . HAPPY IS ME
( we r de kinda lucky grp , we treck to no toilet campsite , thou we r sticky , it was btr then de other grp ? They kayaked to the no toilet campsite . they r soaked in sea water , no baths . Imagine that ..)
9.1kg worth of trash . Picked up more then 1O pairs of shoes ?
N even a bin was seen abandoned . Like who would throw a bin away ? That's just plain stupid ok x'D
NIGHT 4 ( last night)
I started missing camp , MY CAMP MATES .
Can't believe I nvr looked forward to camp . Was so tired n we still had to do night duty ? Seriously ?! Kill us bro .
Woke up late de next morning .. If de other grp hadn't woke us up , we wouldn't even move
DAY 5
it was more of packing up n leaving .. )-:
We all look like china workers right ...
Last round of sitting down Tgt , eating breakfast n talking abt fireworks .
Been a really really fun camp for me
24 FEB-29 FEB
Will definitely attend OBS if I had de chance too (-:!
some food I just missed during OBS
Just had 2 eat them aft OBS
Saturday, 30 November 2013
Last days of November
ๆ่ฟ,ๆๆๅฐๅฅฝ้พ่ฟ、ๅlonely。
My friends all seem 2 b 2 busy w their lifes . Apps them one morning . Either slping, working, busy dating , alr out , can't b bothered 2 reply .
I guess I shld b @ work 2 . Buts it's like a Saturday .
So anyway aft a long long long long time , le me went 2 buy a pair of basketball shoes . Wanted 2 buy a simple designed nike shoes but couldn't manage 2 find . Went 2 queens way , bedok point , expo , at last gave up , went 2 queensway w rine AGN . At least I manage 2 buy smth I liked ๐
This is like dam chio . HAHAHHAHAHAH yes , I buy all my things by their appearance , simply bc I'm a girl n I like chio stuff n this pair of shoe is like dam chio . I doubt I can even bear 2 wear it .
Finally aft a yr in bball , I own a pair of bball shoes . Y.A.Y ! N a nice 1 @ that
N aft strolling every inch of de shopping mall , rine decided 2 get de same pair as me . De pair she intended 2 get was OOS ๐ *THATS HER KARMA*
So now I'm stuck w de same shoes as her . Eeewww confirm xiasuay xiasuay๐
N as always , it's raining . De weather really knows when I'm feeling down .
Ended my day w my usual TKD training lo☺️
Goodie bye bye
Cheryl king kong moo bird tweet ❤️
Wednesday, 27 November 2013
A day in USS
Went USS 2 days back w Rine n Trevis ✌️
Went thr abt 2++?
Usually ppl would wake up super early n spend de whole day thr but noooo , 2 little rides thr anyway . Heh
Anywayyyy
We spend more then half de time thr queeing up ok .
N it rained ): dark clouds all de way from de time we reached thr . Drizzling when we left . Didn't really play much ):
I was like worrying what if it rains de entire trip . Been 2 USS quite a number of times but , HAVE NVR RODE DE RED N BLUE ROLLAR COASTER . I have height phobia . So I'm glad it's closed most of de time , otherwise , knowing my friends they would draggggg me up thr . Wouldn't want that
Pls spot de 3 hot guys in da pic
Rine's sexy feet -FIY*it smells like crap-
Finally food lor? Craving 4 cheese de whole day . Weird food cravings I have daily
N my v delicious chicken rice w pineapple . I think yellow rice r sexy HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH . Sexy or not , it's in my bellie
W food , I end my blog
Loveya'all ❤️
xx
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)














